Home Awards & Competitions Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award (SGJA)
SGJA 2014 Print E-mail



The IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award is the highest honour that the International Federation of Landscape Architects can bestow upon a landscape architect. The Award recognises a living landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and on the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture.The award is bestowed annually on an individual whose work and achievements merit this recognition.


Candidate Selection

The award recipient will be identified through a nomination and jury selection process. In agreeing to be nominated, candidates must also agree to present a lecture on their work to the IFLA World Council, and/or other suitable fora, in the event of winning the award, and that they are willing to travel to the World Council meeting to accept the award. A candidate may be nominated up to a maximum of three times for the award.


Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee includes landscape architects from all four regions of IFLA, who represent the range of academic, public and private practice and have a thorough knowledge of the profession, its key practitioners,  and  international practice.


The Nominations Committee initiates a search for an appropriate candidate by soliciting  nominations from IFLA World Council members, member associations and independent sources. The Committee also develops nominations to help ensure a broad range of qualified nominees for consideration as final candidates.


After the Nominations Committee agrees on a list of suitable candidates for the Award, it will seek the agreement of each candidate to be so nominated, and then obtain information supporting their nomination from them, which will then be referred to the nominee's national association for confirmation.  The final confidential list of candidates is then supplied to the International Jury, which selects the recipient of the award. The Committee also submits a report on the Nominees and the Nominations process to the IFLA President.


Nominations Committee (NC) members:

Darwina L. Neal, Americas, Chair (2012-14; First Term). Click here for CV
Martha C. Fajardo, Americas (2012-14; Second Term). Click here for CV
Lars Nyberg, Europe (2012-14; Second Term). Click here for CV
Xiaoming Liu, Asia-Pacific (2012-14; Second Term). Click here for CV
Liana Müller, Africa (2011-2013; First Term). Click here for CV



International Jury

The International Jury comprises 5 members - a Chair and at least one member from each region of IFLA. The Jury adopts its own working procedures, establishing criteria for assessment in terms of the purpose of the Award and the categories of nominations. Upon completion of their work, the Jury submits a written report to the IFLA President. The report and its result remain confidential until the award winner has been officially announced by the IFLA President.


Jury members:

Jenny B. Osuldsen Chair (2012-14; Second Term). Click here for CV
Greg Grabasch Asia-Pacific (2014-16; First Term). Click here for CV
Fritz A. Auweck, Europe (2012-14; Second Term) . Click here for CV
Diana Wiesner, Americas (2012-14; First Term). Click here for CV
Carey Duncan, Africa (2014-16; First Term). Click here for CV


Procedure for the Award

The Award recipient will be notified by the IFLA President and invited to attend the IFLA World Congress, where the winner will be announced, the Award will be presented, and the winner will make a presentation of his/her work at a suitable function in conjunction with the Congress. The content of the presentation will be made available for IFLA use.

a. Costs of the award shall be fully covered by IFLA, with the support of member associations and sponsors, as appropriate.

b. The award shall include an economy flight to the IFLA World Congress, three days funded accommodation, and registration at the IFLA World Congress, but no monetary grant.


For Further information

Questions regarding the award or the nomination and selection process should be directed to:

Darwina L. Neal, FASLA
Chair, Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Nomination Committee
1608D Beekman Place, NW
Washington, DC 20009-4021
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe: 1900-1996

The award commemorates the outstanding contributions to IFLA of the President of Honour Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe of Great Britain who served IFLA as founding President from 1948-1954. Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe was a leading landscape architect with a career spanning almost seventy years. Born in 1900, he was a trained architect, town planner, landscape architect and garden designer, but his prime interest was in landscape and garden design. Jellicoe's rich career enabled the creation of many inspiring projects, from Cheddar Gorge to the Kennedy Memorial at Runneymede, thought to be one of his greatest works. He was a founding member (1929) and then President of the British Institute of Landscape Architects (the ILA - now the LI) and was knighted for services to landscape architecture in 1979. In 1994, he was awarded the Royal Horticultural Society's highest honour, the Victoria Medal of Honour.



Call for Nominations

Press Release



  Cheap Cialis Generic OnlineCialis Daily CanadaCialis Fast DeliveryCheap Generic ViagraViagra In Australia For Sale